Meghalaya | Meghalaya: Governor CM Sangma has been invited to form the government, the swearing-in ceremony will be held on March 7; Modi-Shah were expected to attendSUCHI News

Suchi News


Shillong. Meghalaya Governor Fagu Chauhan has sent an invitation to National People’s Party (NPP) leader Konrad Sangma to form the government in the state amid speculation of opposition unity and reports of post-election violence. Sangma himself gave this statement on Saturday. He said, he has received an invitation from the governor to form the government in the northeast.

Chief Minister Sangma said, “I have received the Governor’s letter inviting me to form the government. The swearing-in ceremony will be held on March 7 at 11 am at the Raj Bhavan. We expect the Prime Minister, Minister of Interior and other leaders to attend the ceremony.”

On reports of violence, the NPP boss said, “We have 32 MPs and they are elected by the people and that’s why MPs decide who they want to support. Maybe There are differences in private organizations but it is different from the election manager. Meghalaya has never seen such behavior and it will not be tolerated.”

On the other hand, on the demand for a Khasi CM in Meghalaya, Sangma said, “We are in a democracy, there is a system to choose the Chief Minister. It is not appropriate. to a person from a particular village but it is based on the authority of the people. I think people have feelings on this matter but an order has been given.”

read this too

Importantly, Sangma met Governor Fagu Chauhan on Friday and confirmed the formation of the government in the state. The chief minister of the state, Sangma said that he has a majority of 60 members with the support of 32 MLAs. Konrad Sangma said he has the support of the BJP, HSPDP and two independent MPs, and the number is expected to increase in the coming days as he talks with other parties.

It is noteworthy that on February 27, the election was held in 59 assembly seats in Meghalaya. The election results were announced on Thursday, with the NPP emerging as the single largest party by winning 26 seats. The United Democratic Party (UDP), an ally of the NPP, has won in 11 seats, down from six in the 2018 election. Meanwhile, the Congress and Trinamool Congress led by Mamata Banerjee have won five seats each while the BJP has won two seats. . The newly formed Voice of the People’s Party (VPP) won four seats, HSPDP and PDF won two each, while two independents won.

The Ultimate Managed Hosting Platform